The May Collages

During my last month at college, I found a way to fuse my interests in drawing, art history, architecture, photography, color theory, composition, and just-plain-gorgeous furniture: The May Collages. They happened in a  whirlwind burst of creativity and motivation, which lasted about 2 days and 3 nights of very little eating or sleeping. The collages were the fruit of an extended moment of passion and inspiration that I had not felt in a while, mainly because my academic choices has separated me from art making for about two years.

After producing the originals, I took polaroids of the collages, and also photographed them in black-and-white with a large format 4×5 camera (for which I have a slight fetish). Below are the Polaroid versions.

The First Living Room [Polaroid], May 2009

Lady Agnew Bedroom [Polaroid], May 2009

Whistler’s Japanese Bedroom [Polaroid], May 2009

The Breakfast Room [Polaroid], May 2009

Matisse Color Ranch [Polaroid], May 2009

The process behind these collages interests me because it is a mixed-media method. It involves the collection and classification of textures, images and materials. The first step is a search through magazines, newspapers, messy drawers, and even poetry (I like to us text as surface); followed by a chaotic flurry of scissors and an anti-logical sorting system, which involves valleys of little papered piles only I can decipher. It involves drawing and a compositional vision. The indiscriminate piles dissolve beneath my fingers as cut-out couches, lampshades, flowers, patterns, doors, alarm-clocks, books, words, famous paintings, king-size beds, cushions, throws, picture-frames, all fly onto my cardboard canvas. The rest is a puzzle. These various architectural elements are arranged and rearranged until everything somehow. Clicks.

This entry was posted in Artwork., Musing. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The May Collages

  1. Aviad says:

    You really have a knack for composition. I also like the way the color tones is consistent through the series (maybe because of the polaroid?). Brava.

    • betinavb says:

      Thank you, Aviad!!🙂 You are right that the Polaroid evens out the tone. Photography helps flatten out the natural texture of the collage in a way I love. I also photographed them in black and white with a 4×5, which creates a different look entirely. Much more detail! I plan on posting those in the near future.

Leave a Reply

